‘Bueller? Bueller? Bueller?’ Throwing it back all the way to ’86

I mentioned in my first blog post that my favorite movie of all time is Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. When thinking of a movie post to do, I decided: why not travel back to 1986 Chicago and recollect my favorite film of all time?

This movie has a special place in my heart. I could not tell you how many times I have watched it. I could continue rambling about how much I love it, but I’d rather get a move-on with talking about WHY it is so awesome.

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off tells the story of a high school senior named Ferris (Matthew Broderick) who takes a day off from school (using the most elaborate plan imaginable to do so). Ferris convinces his actually sick friend, Cameron Frye (Alan Ruck), and his girlfriend, Sloane Peterson (Mia Sara), to tag along with him on an exploration in the beautiful city of Chicago. Throughout all of this, the antagonist and evil principal, Mr. Ed Rooney (Jeffrey Jones), finds himself on a trail after Ferris trying to catch him skipping school.

In this adventure, the audience sees the ultimate friend trio go to various famous Chicago attractions/locations and see funny events ensue. It gives a perfect blend of stress, slapstick and dry comedy that never gets old.

Although I’ve only given a general overview to the plot, there are so many iconic quotes and moments from this movie. It feels as if though every teacher/professor on this earth quotes “Bueller? Bueller?… Frye? Frye? Frye?”

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off features some revolutionary scenes, most notably Ferris’ famous opening monologue and Ferris’ interruption during the credits.

Among the great comedy and legendary quotes lies a beautiful coming-of-age story that many people can relate to. Bueller teaches the audience to enjoy the little and big things of life as one and for people to be proud in who they are.

Another enjoyable factor of this film is how beautiful it is. Watching this movie makes it feel as if one is actually in Chicago. Now that I have actually visited it, I must say that even the movie can’t do it justice.

My love for this movie will never be taken away. I annoy people that watch it with me because I quote things way too often. It will always remain the movie that I watch when I am sick.

I’ll leave you all with one of the best quotes from Ferris himself:

Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.

Have you guys seen Ferris Bueller’s Day Off? What is your favorite part? I’d love to hear your responses!

Leave a comment or shoot me an email at: mfthomas@mail.lipscomb.edu

Blessings,

Mason

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “‘Bueller? Bueller? Bueller?’ Throwing it back all the way to ’86”

  1. I can relate to being obsessed with a movie so much that I can annoy people with how much I talk about it. Your interest in this movie is awesome and I’ve never seen it (I know, I know), but maybe I will now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mason, this is great. This is a movie I’ve been planning to see but haven’t had the time, and this post makes me want to watch it now! Love hearing your personal opinions on it but also general truths about it. The way you write makes the scenes come alive. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve actually seen like half of this movie, but I got sidetracked and forgot about it until now! Thank you for bringing up a classic and explaining why you personally love it, because it makes me want to love it too!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

